International Mathematical
Contest in Modeling

COMAPposterThe Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM) challenges teams of university students to clarify, analyze, and propose solutions to open-ended problems. The contest attracts diverse students--all sponsored by a faculty advisor--from over 500 institutions around the world.

Each year, over 3,000 teams, consisting of 3-students each, submit solutions to one of two open-ended, complex problems within 96 hours of being posted. For each problem, MCM awards three outright and named First Prizes--so a total of 6 first prize winners per year.

From 2009-2015, out of 30,428 competing teams, 70 Outstanding Awards and 42 Named Prizes (from the 70) EHP has won 8 Outstandings and 7 Named Prizes (see chart above). Our winners were:


Matthew Hurst, Nathan Yeo, Jordan Deitsch
2016 MAA Prize Recipients



Matthew Hurst, Nathan Yeo, Jordan Deitsch
SIAM & Two Sigma Scholaship Award

Derek Gorthy, Christine Reilly, Marc Thompson
Outstanding Designation



Fiona Pigott, Christopher Aicher, Tracy Babb
2013 SIAM Prize Recipients

Yueh-Ya (Sam) Hsu, Gregory McQuie, David Thomas
2013 MAA Prize Recipients



Stephen Kissler, Christopher Corey, Sean Wiese
2012 MAA Prize Recipients

Christopher Aicher, Tracy Babb, Daniel Sutton
2012 INFORMS Prize Recipients



Eric Benzel, Anil Damle, Colin West
2010 MAA Prize Recipients


Anil Damle, Anna Lieb, Geoffrey Peterson
2009 INFORMS Prize Recipients